9 Best Shopify Alternatives in 2026 (Compared on Real Cost)
Disclosure: SAASTOOLY earns a commission when you buy through some of the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Shopify pricing verified September 2026; Flowlance's deal terms and Payhip's pricing verified October 2026. Check current rates before you commit, as platforms change them.
Shopify's advertised price is $39 a month. Almost nobody pays $39 a month.
The plan fee is one of three layers. Add payment processing at 2.9% + 30¢ per online sale on Basic, then the apps — and most stores need several, each with its own subscription. A typical small store lands somewhere between $50 and $150 a month all-in, and the apps are usually the larger half.
There is a fourth cost that shows up only if you use a payment gateway other than Shopify Payments: a 2% surcharge on every transaction on the Basic plan. On a store doing $10,000 a month, that alone is $200. It exists to make leaving Shopify Payments expensive, and it works.
None of this makes Shopify a bad platform. It is genuinely excellent. But it is a platform you rent, and the rent goes up as you grow. This article covers what to use instead, starting with the question that decides most of the answer: what are you actually selling?
Why stores actually leave Shopify
Not the reasons in most listicles. The reasons that show up in real migrations:
The app stack, not the plan. Reviews, subscriptions, upsells, advanced shipping — each is $10–50 a month and none is included. Store owners discover their software bill is four times the plan fee.
The gateway penalty. If you have a payment processor with better rates in your country, Shopify charges you for using it. For non-US merchants this is often the deciding factor.
Basic lost staff accounts. As of 2026, the Basic plan gives the owner and nobody else. Adding one employee means jumping to Grow at $105/month — a $66 increase to give someone a login.
Paying for a warehouse you do not have. Shopify is built around physical inventory and shipping. Creators, coaches and consultants selling ebooks, courses or sessions pay for a lot of machinery they never use.
First decide: physical or digital?
This single question narrows the list more than any feature comparison.
- You sell digital products, courses, coaching or services → a creator storefront (Flowlance or Payhip) is usually simpler and far cheaper than Shopify.
- You ship physical goods with inventory and variants → you need a full ecommerce platform (BigCommerce, WooCommerce, Ecwid, Squarespace or Wix).
- You sell both → Payhip handles physical products alongside digital ones; Sellfy adds print-on-demand.
Quick comparison
| Platform | Best for | Starting price | Platform transaction fee | One-time option? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flowlance | Digital products, coaching, services | $19 once | Not stated on listing — verify | ✅ Yes |
| Payhip | Digital, courses, memberships, some physical | Free | 5% Free / 2% Plus / 0% Pro | ❌ |
| BigCommerce | Growing physical-goods stores | ~$39/mo | None charged by platform | ❌ |
| WooCommerce | Full control, WordPress sites | Free + hosting | None charged by platform | ❌ (hosting recurs) |
| Ecwid by Lightspeed | Adding a store to an existing site | Free tier available | None charged by platform | ❌ |
| Squarespace Commerce | Design-led brands, low volume | ~$28/mo | None on commerce plans | ❌ |
| Wix eCommerce | Beginners wanting speed | ~$29/mo | None charged by platform | ❌ |
| Sellfy | Creators, print-on-demand | ~$29/mo | None charged by platform | ❌ |
| Square Online | Stores with a physical location | Free tier available | None charged by platform | ❌ |
Payment processing fees from Stripe, PayPal or your card processor apply on every platform. The fee column refers only to what the platform itself adds on top.
1. Flowlance — the one-time option for digital sellers
Price: $19 (Tier 1), $39 (Tier 2) or $99 (Tier 3), one time Best for: creators, coaches and consultants selling digital products, sessions or memberships
It leads this list because it is the only one-time storefront on it, and because for digital sellers it replaces Shopify outright rather than partially. It is not a replacement for a store that ships physical goods.
Flowlance is a no-code storefront for selling digital products, coaching and services. You pick a template, add products, connect Stripe, PayPal or bank transfer, and it delivers products automatically after purchase. A built-in booking calendar lets clients schedule paid sessions from the same page, which on Shopify would need a separate scheduling app. Analytics track visits, revenue and conversions, and white-labelling is included.
What the tiers actually unlock, which matters more than the headline price:
| Tier | Price | Products | Analytics history | Course builder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tier 1 | $19 | 10 | 14 days | None |
| Tier 2 | $39 | 20 | Unlimited | 1 course |
| Tier 3 | $99 | 30 | Unlimited | Unlimited |
For most sellers Tier 2 is the sensible choice: double the products of Tier 1, full analytics history and one course, for $20 more. Tier 1's 14-day analytics window makes it hard to see trends. Tier 3 only makes sense if you run several courses.
The maths against a subscription: against Payhip Plus at $29 a month, Tier 2 at $39 pays for itself in under two months, before counting Payhip's 2% fee on sales.
Deal structure to understand. Flowlance is sold as a license, not a code. You choose a tier at purchase and can upgrade or downgrade between tiers while the deal is live; codes cannot be stacked. See how AppSumo codes and licenses work. It carries a 60-day refund window under AppSumo's "We Got Your Back" guarantee.
Honest caveats. The rating is the weakest of any pick here: 3.97 stars from 37 reviews. Reviewers like the speed and white-labelling, but mention slow customer service responses and minor issues such as privacy-policy formatting. The product caps are firm (30 products at most), so a large catalogue will outgrow it. The listing does not state whether Flowlance adds its own transaction fee, so confirm that before you rely on it. And the company is young (founded in 2022, based in Prague), so check the founder's answers in the deal Q&A and use our 10-point checklist.
Before you buy: confirm payouts work in your country through Stripe or PayPal, count the products you will sell in the next year, and send a test purchase through the checkout during the refund window.
2. Payhip — the best subscription for digital sellers
Price: Free (5% transaction fee), Plus $29/month (2%), Pro $99/month (0%) Best for: ebooks, courses, memberships, coaching and downloads, with some physical products alongside
Payhip's model is unusual and worth understanding: every plan has every feature and unlimited products. The plans differ only in how you pay, either through a percentage of each sale or a flat monthly fee. That means you can start on the free plan, sell from day one, and only pay when you are making money.
It is purpose-built for the things that are painful on Shopify for digital sellers: file delivery, licence keys, course hosting, memberships, coaching and EU VAT and UK tax handling. It also sells physical products, which Flowlance does not.
When to move up a plan. Because the plans trade a monthly fee against a lower percentage, the right plan depends on your monthly sales:
| Monthly sales | Cheapest Payhip plan |
|---|---|
| Under about $967 | Free (5%) |
| About $967 to $3,500 | Plus ($29 + 2%) |
| Over about $3,500 | Pro ($99, no platform fee) |
Plus beats Free once 3% of your sales exceeds $29 (about $967 a month). Pro beats Plus once 2% of sales exceeds the $70 difference in fees (about $3,500 a month).
Honest caveats. Stripe and PayPal still charge their standard rates on top of Payhip's fee on every plan. Storefront design is functional rather than beautiful, and physical-product tools (inventory, shipping rules) are basic compared with a dedicated ecommerce platform.
3. BigCommerce — the closest like-for-like
Best for: physical-goods stores growing past $10k/month that want Shopify's capability without the gateway penalty
The most direct competitor. The structural advantage is that BigCommerce does not charge its own transaction fee regardless of which payment processor you use — the exact thing that pushes many stores off Shopify. More features are included natively too, so the app stack tends to be smaller.
The trade-offs are real: the admin interface is less polished, the theme selection is narrower, and plans carry annual sales thresholds that push you to a higher tier as you grow.
Consider it if the gateway penalty is your primary complaint and you are not looking to escape subscriptions entirely.
4. WooCommerce — maximum control
Best for: anyone already running WordPress, and stores that need customisation Shopify will not allow
The software is free and open source. You pay for hosting, and for whichever extensions you need.
What you get is ownership — your store is not on someone else's platform, no one can change your pricing, and there is no transaction fee beyond your processor's. What you take on is responsibility: updates, security, backups, and performance are yours.
The honest version of the cost: budget $20–60 a month for decent hosting plus extensions. "Free" is accurate about the licence and misleading about the total.
Best fit if you already have WordPress skills in-house or a developer on retainer. A poor fit if you want to launch this weekend.
If you are building on WordPress, our guide to Webflow and Elementor alternatives covers the page-building side.
5. Ecwid by Lightspeed — add a store to what you already have
Best for: existing sites that need commerce bolted on rather than rebuilt
Ecwid is a widget rather than a platform. You embed it into a site you already run — WordPress, Squarespace, plain HTML — and it handles catalogue, cart, and checkout without touching the rest of your site.
There is a free tier for a small catalogue, and no platform transaction fee.
This is the right answer more often than people expect. If your website works and only the shopping part is missing, replacing the whole site is the expensive way to solve a narrow problem.
6. Squarespace Commerce — design-led
Best for: brands where presentation matters more than commerce depth
The templates are genuinely better looking than most of what you will assemble elsewhere, and the editor is pleasant. Commerce plans carry no platform transaction fee.
The limits appear as you scale: inventory management, shipping rules, and reporting are thinner than Shopify's, and the app ecosystem is small. For a store selling forty products with a strong visual identity, that is fine. For one selling four hundred with complex variants, it is not.
7. Wix eCommerce — fastest to launch
Best for: first-time sellers who want to be live this week
Wix has improved considerably and the drag-and-drop editor is the easiest on this list. No platform transaction fee on business plans.
Two known constraints: you cannot swap templates after publishing without rebuilding, and advanced commerce features lag the specialists. Fine for a straightforward catalogue, limiting if you need subscriptions, bundles, or complex shipping logic.
8. Sellfy — creators and print-on-demand
Best for: creators selling merchandise alongside digital products
Sellfy combines digital product sales with print-on-demand, so you can sell a course and a t-shirt from the same storefront without integrating two systems. Storefront setup takes under an hour.
Narrower than the general platforms, and deliberately so. If you need advanced inventory or B2B pricing, this is not it.
9. Square Online — for stores with a physical location
Best for: cafés, salons, and retailers where in-person sales dominate
If you already take payments with Square in person, Square Online syncs inventory and customer data between your counter and your website automatically. There is a free tier.
Weaker than the specialists as a standalone online store. Strong specifically because of that integration, which is expensive to replicate elsewhere.
🎯 Score it before you switch
Before committing to any platform — subscription or one-time — run it through our free weighted scorecard. Seven checks, a payback calculator, and a plain verdict: buy, borderline, or skip.
The migration reality check
Every article like this understates switching cost. Here is the honest version.
Product data moves reasonably well. Most platforms import a CSV. Expect to fix categories and variants by hand. Digital files usually need re-uploading one by one.
Your design does not move. You are rebuilding the storefront on the new platform's system. Budget real time for this, or real money.
Your URLs matter more than you think. If your product pages rank in Google, changing their addresses without 301 redirects will cost you traffic. Map old URLs to new ones before you launch, not after.
Your integrations will break. Email platform, accounting, shipping, analytics — each needs reconnecting, and some connectors that exist for Shopify do not exist elsewhere. List your integrations before choosing, not after.
Existing customers need to know. Buyers of digital products may need new download links or course logins. Tell them before you switch, not after they cannot get in.
Rough time estimate: a simple digital store with a handful of products is an afternoon. A physical store with under 100 products is a solid weekend. Anything with custom apps or complex variants is a project.
The practical implication: switching to save $30 a month is rarely worth it. Switching to escape a $200/month gateway penalty, or to stop paying for physical-commerce machinery you never use, usually is.
Which one should you pick?
You sell digital products, coaching or services and want no monthly bill → Flowlance. Tier 2 suits most sellers; check the product cap and test checkout during the refund window.
You sell digital products and want to pay only when you make money → Payhip's free plan, moving to Plus around $1,000 a month in sales.
You sell digital and some physical products → Payhip, or Sellfy if you want print-on-demand.
Your problem is specifically the gateway penalty → BigCommerce. Same capability class, no platform fee on your own processor.
You already run WordPress → WooCommerce, if you have the skills. Ecwid if you do not.
Your site works and only checkout is missing → Ecwid. Do not rebuild a working site to add a cart.
You sell in person too → Square Online if you use Square.
You are already on Shopify, growing, and not in pain → stay. The best platform decision is often no decision, and migration cost is real.
For more on when a one-time purchase beats a subscription, see lifetime deal vs subscription.
💡 Browse one-time alternatives
All lifetime deals → · Build It Yourself → · Our 2026 picks →
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest Shopify alternative? For digital products, Payhip's free plan costs nothing until you sell (it takes 5% per sale), and Flowlance is a one-time purchase from $19. For physical stores, WooCommerce is free as software, but you pay for hosting.
Is there a Shopify alternative with no monthly fee? Yes. Flowlance is a one-time purchase for selling digital products, coaching and services. Payhip, Ecwid and Square Online have free plans with limits or per-sale fees. WooCommerce has no licence fee but requires paid hosting.
What is the best Shopify alternative for digital products? Payhip and Flowlance are both built for digital sellers. Payhip has every feature on every plan and handles EU VAT; Flowlance is a one-time purchase with built-in booking for coaching sessions.
Can I move my Shopify store to another platform? Yes. Product data usually exports as CSV and imports elsewhere. Your design does not transfer, digital files often need re-uploading, and you will need 301 redirects to preserve search rankings on product pages.
Which Shopify alternative has the lowest transaction fees? Most alternatives charge no platform fee on top of your payment processor, unlike Shopify's 2% surcharge on Basic when using an external gateway. Payhip's fee depends on your plan (5%, 2% or 0%). You still pay your processor's rate everywhere.
Is BigCommerce better than Shopify? Not universally. It removes the gateway penalty and includes more natively, but the interface is less polished and the theme selection narrower. It is better specifically if the gateway fee is your problem.
Are lifetime ecommerce platforms risky? The risk is vendor survival. Mitigate it by checking data export before buying, testing checkout during the refund window, and choosing tools where payback is fast. Details in our 10-point checklist.